Giving a talk on Poly Hives - Need evidence

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simoncav

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hi all,
I've been keeping bees in Poly hives for several years now and have been asked to give a talk on Poly hives at the Hampshire Beekeepers convention on the 10th November.

Although I have plenty of anecdotal evidence on how bees seem to do better in poly hives, particularly in coming through winters and building up in spring, I'm looking for any hard numbers on the thermal efficiency of Poly hives over standard single skin wooden ones.

Would also appreciate any hints or tips from other Poly hive users that you might want to share with others - Please let me know if you want me to acknowledge you in the presentation notes or not.

Thanks

Simon

The best way of giving a talk is to provide balanced evidence: the sort of thing that says poly is good for a, b and c but wood is still more x,y,z...Preaching is not often a popular technique, but of course you wouldn't, would you :D?

Hi all,
I've been keeping bees in Poly hives for several years now and have been asked to give a talk on Poly hives at the Hampshire Beekeepers convention on the 10th November.

Although I have plenty of anecdotal evidence on how bees seem to do better in poly hives, particularly in coming through winters and building up in spring, I'm looking for any hard numbers on the thermal efficiency of Poly hives over standard single skin wooden ones.

Would also appreciate any hints or tips from other Poly hive users that you might want to share with others - Please let me know if you want me to acknowledge you in the presentation notes or not.

Thanks

Simon