Early bird catches the queen???

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

louiseww

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
3 hives
As a newbie I have a colony, doing well, but the queen has not been marked. I set about finding her today and I did, but I got so excited :hurray: that I fumbled the queen cage and pen and by that time she had ambled off! I marked the frame and came back after inspecting the whole hive but still couldn't find her.
Any tips on how to put her in a cage without killing/damaging her in my excitment!
Thanks
Louise

Check out utube loads of videos, still trying to find my queens, was hoping to do it before the drones start showing but no luck as of yet

Anyone hunting through for a queen to mark has two problems to contend with.

Firstly the colony is being pulled apart, dissected and rummaged through while the weather is not too convivial for that (well certainly at my location) and secondly, you are marking your precious queens and taking the risk of losing them at a time when emergency replacement is certainly not automatic.

You are risking damage (or even death) of the queen, rejection by the workers (supercedure or emergency cells) and expecting any new queen to be successfully mating in early May - another risk in the UK.

If you have spare queens, several colonies, or are experienced, then go ahead. If you only have a single colony or very few and inexperienced, you are simply asking for trouble by marking the queen in March.

My view and doubtless there will be some who disagree. I say 'think' before taking actions where the outcome could be embarrassing. Become a beekeeper.

RAB

My last queen used to waggle around the frame showing off...but this one (being marked blue) has disappeared...So - as long as she is laying and there is brood at all stages....RELAX!!! :)

Louise