Bee Friendly or Honey Bee Friendly?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Margaret Elisabeth

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I am a gardener by profession and inclination. Though I cannot claim to be organic in practice I try to be the least harmful to wildlife as gardening will allow.
With this in mind I plant what seem to be bee friendly plants as much as possible. I have read regularly articles on planting for wildlife etc. Last year I noticed that the Phalecia I planted was completely ignored by my bees but that various other bees and hoverfly seemed to love it. likewise with all the other plants that the year before my bees had visited. The only thing that they visited in my garden were sunflowers and that was later in the season.
Does anyone have a plant list that is especially useful in regard to honey bees and gardens as opposed to any bee.

Last year we had OSR in flower until mid July. I didn't see a honey bee in my garden until it had finished flowering.

Not flower person but they dont look at anything in our garden.
Thier concern is to leave the hive and get up up and away.

I have a blue campanula in my garden that attracts both bumble and honey bees bee-smillie

Hi Margaret Elisabeth,
It is frustrating isn't it. You plant what is supposed to be honey bee friendly plants in your garden and you never see any of your bees on it! I have plenty of buddleia in my garden, but never seen any honey bees on mine. Went next door and loads of honey bees on my neighbours! Saying that, early spring flowers like Scilla and Bluebells in my garden are foraged by my bees. They also love my Prunus, apple blossom and Wisteria. Some say that honey bees don't forage near their hives for security reasons, but I don't know if there is any science behind that!