Api Life Var Help please

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steveuk

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi All
again would appriciate some advice please, this is my first year , i have one hive.

I have one brood box and one super on with lots of stores for them to go through winter, my question is regarding api life var, i understand that i put 4 bits on each corner of the brood box, is this on top of the queen excluder or underneath it,

the super above has good stores as i did not take the honey off this one, the second super i did and now storing that 2nd super using first for feed

I belive that api life var could taint the stores and that i may have to change all the frames next year.

Being a newbie and going into my first winter i know to come here for sound advice and again any help appriciated.
Regards
Steve

if you must keep a super for winter feeding then you cannot leave a QE on with a super above in winter as the bee cluster can migrate to the super or split into two clusters leaving the queen in the brood box below with no food and she will get isolated and die of cold

could i suggest a slight alternative

put the super above the crown board with the feed hole partially blocked to allow two or three bees through at a time, QE under crown board to stop HM going up , then bruise the honey cappings with your hive tool so the honey comes to the surface

this will make the bees pull down the honey into the brood box and the stores either side of the cluster is a natural insulation, you may still have to feed more

if you are on omf then in late october remove the QE and place the super under the brood box to act as a wind break ( two person job as the brood box should be very heavy with stores)

my own way is