All honey and very little eggs

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greig1983

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hello all,

I'm new to beekeeping and got my first hive which is a polystyrene double brood hive.

Anyway, I noticed a bee a week ago dying on the ground and it had a varroa mite on it, I spoke to the previous owner and he told me that he treated them with Apiguard in early September.
It's an open mesh so I put a board with sticky tape on it under the mesh and had about 20/30 mites in a week. During this time I purchased BeeVital Hiveclean.

Cut a long story short, I opened up the hive today and split the broods to spray this fluid in. The top brood had a lot of honey, each frame was basically full of honey but the odd one would have some larva, meaning about 15 in total I would guess, the bottom brood had two frames of honey and the rest of the frames were empty.

Is this correct? I honestly thought there would of been much more eggs/larva?Im starting to worry now in thinking they won't survive due to this.

I only had a quick look for the queen but didn't notice her. She isn't marked so would of been there a while. None of the larva had mites on them and couldn't see any on the bees.

Anyone got any ideas or thoughts? I'm based in East Kilbride, Glasgow if anyone is willing to have a look if there free.

Thanks again all

It sounds as though the Apiguard treatment was not as effective as it might have been but it's too late now. You won't see mites on larvae as they are under the capping but this isn't the time of year to go poking around in the hive as you have done anyway. They should be left alone until at least end of December when oxalic in one form or another will deal with the phoretic mites which will then be on the bees as there won't be any brood.