Advice on buying a good quality extractor?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bandini

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm new to beekeeping and have just discovered this fantastic forum. Already learnt a lot from reading posts. Please can anyone recommend a good extractor. I have three colonies at present, but intend on expanding to around 10 over the next years. There's a lot of rape grown in the area so I understand this may be an issue next year. ( this year I missed it). Look forward to hearing.

It so depends on your useage. as a starter I would go for a three frame hand extractor that is big enough to take brood as well as super frames. It is good to do by hand. But if you intend extracting loads then a nine frame electric. All the big companies sell them. PVC is good and easy to clean. I would suggest you get the best you can afford but don't forget a tray, an uncapping knife, a storage bucket, a sieve and of course muscle and patience and loads of newspaper for the floor!!!!!

Enrico, thank you. I didn't think I would extract from the brood chamber? How does that work? I will go for muscle power for now! And I guess my budget is around £300. Are there reliable makes, makes to avoid?

Lots of extractors on E bay, don't buy anything that is not stainless or food grade plastic.

Be careful with old second hand stuff, as you may not be able to get spares.

I recently bought one of the agri nova extractors, with a drill drive. Very pleased with it to.

We had a 2 frame Thor nes budget extractor in our first year. It was ok to get things up and running but last year we had 11 stone of honey and bought a non powered 9 frame plastic extractor from tho rnes again. Actually due to age or stupidity I cannot recall right now how much it was...I think under 200 pounds.