Abelo 12 frame hive issue

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ali.m.1

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi

Newbie here.

I’ve got two hives, one wooden national and the other is an abelo 12 frame national.

My issue is that when I go to put the super back onto the brood box, I keep killing bees in the seam of the Abelo hive.

With the wooden national, you can sort of brush them off. But with the new abelo one, the seam prevents you from doing that.

Does anyone have any techniques for putting down the abelo 12 frame hive without killing any bees?

I hate the noise of them crushing to death!

Thanks

Alasdair

Little smoke will help, similar techniques as in the poly nucs from Maisemore or BS Honey. Don't go backwards :)

Sell the 12 frame and buy instead the original Abelo 11-frame which has a format and box rim profile identical to wood National.

Why did you buy the 12-frame?
Thanks but that’s not very helpful… is it really that bad? I see plenty of other keepers using them.

I bought it after getting a recommendation, and after Black Mountsin Honey’s video on them.

Thanks but that’s not very helpful… is it really that bad? I see plenty of other keepers using them.

I bought it after getting a recommendation, and after Black Mountsin Honey’s video on them.
Over the last twelve months the 12-frame seems to have become the fashionable version of the Abelo and @ericbeaumont is only telling it how it is. The interlocks are handy to keep the integrity of a hive that's regularly shifted any distance; but that describes a nuc rather than a full hive.
It's really hard to see the nett gain from the newer hive, especially since the standard Abelo is so widely considered to be so good.

Thanks but that’s not very helpful… I see plenty of other keepers using them.