Years service

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonnybeegood

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi Admin, is it possible to have on peoples profile thingy how long people have been beekeeping rather than how many hives people have? I dont think how many people have really matters, but seeing how many years experience gives a new beek like myself more of an option of who to listen to for advice?

probably better to take the sum of the hives each year i,e, hive years as someone with more hives is going to have seen more each year.

I'm in my second year & i now have 6 hives, someone could have done it for years & only keep 2or 3. I might have learnt a lot in my first year but obviously i have a lot to learn. When you get different answers to the same question it would be better if you knew how long they have kept bees. I know not all experienced beeks are approachable or give good advice but at least we would know if they should know some things or not.

I'd say length of experience is no more correlated to expertise than number of hives is.

(just as true in beekeeping as in any other skill, eg. car drivers, managers, politicians, ...)

I would say consider post count, some people on here have so many posts that surely they can't actually keep any bees. They just wouldn't have the time to do both !

Last edited:
I find the entertainment on here better than TV. Hence the number of posts!
E

I would say consider post count, some people on here have so many posts that surely they can't actually keep any bees. They just wouldn't have the time to do both !

but factor in the figure that some are retired and have nothing better to do..

Ask 12 beekeepers a question, and you'll get 12 different answers!

and then go and do something different which works for you!