Wired foundation moving during inspection

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi All,

I am new to beekeeping and have just completed my 2nd inspection after installing a nuc.

They are still drawing out the foundation on the new frames and I can see BIAS so presume all is good even though I didn't see the queen this time.

When I tilted one of the heaviest frames the wired foundation pulled out of the bottom of the frame.

Is there anything I should do or will the bees eventually brace it back to the frame and make it more stable for the next inspection?

Thanks
Chris

Just push it into place and the bees will fix, it happens sometimes in hot weather on newly drawn and filled frames. Learn to turn the frames to avoid sagging!

This scenario has been one of my biggest fears for 14 x 12 frames (even with wired foundation when new or nibbled at the sides and bottom. I have got over this by drilling two small holes in the top bar and pushing 12" bamboo skewers on each side of the foundation down and the tip in between the bottom bars I divide the frame into 3 sections. To draw them together a piece of wire is pushed through the foundation and twister to secure. The bees build no problem and the frames are rock solid when built. Will post when I get the chance.

If a problem, when inspecting, always keep the frame vertical