Will bees use crystallised ivy honey?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mintmoth

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
In this month's b**craft mag (I won the sub, didn't buy it), it says bees cannot use ivy honey that has crystallised in the combs. My bees were back and forth to ivy all of October and some of November, so in mild panic I gave them a slab of fondant today. They do have crystallised honey in there.

So can someone categorically state whether or not their bees do use ivy please.

I did a google search but the answers I got seemed to be a bit undecided.

Oh, and I found a site that sells cut comb ivy as "slicing honey" (I quote - "Ivy honey is a very hard set honey. I find it very useful this way as you can cut thin slices and the honey stays intact within the comb") at £7.50 per 140g. I'm not good at conversion, but I reckon that must be about £23 per pound!

Do bees use crystalline IVY honey?
Most colonies do and it is a major source of winter stores for many colonies but the bees in a minority of colonies (I have two colonies out of 30 that do this) don't seem to use much of the granulated ivy honey and just lick the fluid from around the crystals before dumping the dry crystals on the floor (if you have OMF the sugar crystals drop through the mesh onto the ground or onto the insert if present)

Who was the author of the article? (I don't take this magazine)

Last edited:
I have no experience of Ivy but plenty with solid OSR and yes they will "use" it in the context of using the liquid around the crystals and dumping said crystals out. So one has to wonder just how much use they actually get from the ivy? Not as much as some fondly believe I suspect.

Pop on some fondant and be sure.

PH