Which bee

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markf3625

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Number of Hives
0 looking to start 2022
Newbee here, after doing all the research about wood poly or plastic hives, I think I'm going to settle for a poly hive, maybe a paradise poly hive, like its constructed, eg plastic runners etc, and the its compatible with wooden box's however can't seem to find much via YouTube on which honey bee to have, kinda swaying towards Italian honey be due to good temperment and less likely to swarm, as a newbee with neighbours to consider, these are important factors to consider, but just watched black mountain honey and he's mentioned F1 or F0 buckfast?

If anyone would like to offer any advice as to which bee to get, given that I'm a beginner in a rural come urban setting, more of large village than a town, I would very gratefully any advice offered.
Kind regards
Mark

Buckfast are gentle and a good beginners bee.
You will find that folk here are quite polarised about what sort of be anybody should be keeping.😉
Local beekeeping associations like to recommend local bees whatever that means.
I keep all sorts but never had Italians. They like to make more bees than honey and they are greedy feeders.
my suggestion would be to get a GOOD nuc of GOOD Buckfast and When you eventually split them you can try another queen. I have recommendations for those too, both from forum members.

On the other hand if your local beekeeping association has decent gentle bees and they offer nucs to beginners it doesn’t matter what bee they are.
Have you joined one?
Yes applied for an associate membership at Stamford and bourne beekeeping association

Regards
Mark

I echo Dani‘s advice - Buckfast from a recognised source, such as Exmoor Bees.