Where to put the APILIFE VAR

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martin921

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I expect the answers obvious but then I am just a confused Newbie.

So I have removed the top super and extracted a few pounds of honey which was a bonus as I wasn't expecting any in the first year.

I now have the brood box with a QE on top and then the super full of winter feed honey for bees.

Where do I put the APILIFE VAR blocks? On top of the honey super or the brood box. If on top of the brood box I guess I will need to move the QE at this time?

Any advice appreciated.

Regards, Martin.

Hi Martin,

About having the supers on, I'd be dubious about using them again next year for honey due to traces of thymol in them. You can always take them off whilst your treating and then put them back on once you've finished. And if you put them back on, to use a stores throughout the winter, remember to take the queen excluder off, because if the bees move up for food and the queen excluder is still on the queen is unable to move up with the cluster and you could lose your queen.
Back to your question, you'd put the ApiLife Var strip on top of the brood box with a crownboard on top.

Hope this is helpful,
Georgia

Are there stores in the brood box?
I suspect there are.
SO
Clear the super and take it and the excluder away.
I divide each week's treatment into four and put a piece in each corner of the brood box.
Shut off the OMF if you have one.
Put the super back after you have finished

Martin,
Why would you want to leave a full super of honey on? Things will get messy. Take it away, extract, and feed the bees.