When do I need to go to double brood?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beanwood

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
5 - 8
I have a 14x12 hive, which I moved my nuc into about a month ago. I now have brood on at least 8 frames, and there appear to be a LOT of bees.
Yesterday I put on a super (All that brood, but not many stores bizarrely)

So, my question is, how do I know if I need to go double brood ?:bigear:

I am not an expert, but surely with a 14x12 you don't need to go to a double brood? With brood on 8 frames you still have space?

I am not an expert, but surely with a 14x12 you don't need to go to a double brood? With brood on 8 frames you still have space?

:iagree:

I would add a (shallow) super and then keep adding them as needed. There is no harm in adding 2 straight away if you are worried.

Personally I use a QE between the 14x12 box and the supers, but plenty of others don't. If I only have foundation in the super I leave the QE off for a week as they seem to draw comb better that way, although you will probably get eggs in the central supers.

Adding another deep 14x12 box might mean getting most of your honey on the 14x12 frames which is hard to extract.

I've got the same problem but was advised to put on a brood box so it's easier to make a new hive if you need to at a later date. Being a complete novice I'm finding all the different advice somewhat confusing and alot of people say just do what you think is right - that's fine if you have some experience. As my bees wont produce any honey to extract do people think super or brood box ? sorry to jump into discussion.