What have you learned in your first year?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jd101k2000

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Just completed my first year of bee keeping and I was thinking about how much 'stuff' I have learned from the bees that I wish I had known earlier. I am sure that a lot of this stuff will become second nature. Before it does, I thought it would be useful to share it.

I was wondering if people in a similar situation would have just one thing that they would like to pass on to absolute beginners.

I'll start the ball rolling:

When looking through hives you have to be meticulous. Just because you don't see queen cells on the first five frames you look at doesn't mean that they haven't hidden a sneaky one of the sixth frame. Keep looking!

Think. Even before making a suggestion, think. Like the above was passed on for absolute beginners, but it is flawed. I know there will not be queen cells in some colonies, so they do not need checking meticulously for queen cells at every inspection. And if there were, there would be nothing I need to do about it unless I had spare queens available.

Yes, think before you reply.

never take anything for granted just because you followed what the book said doesn't mean you will always get the same outcome.

Get to know your bees, don't expect each hive to be the same, the bees don't read the books we do.

That your thirtieth year is not much different to your first year! They still get one up on you!
E

That your thirtieth year is not much different to your first year! They still get one up on you!
E
:yeahthat:

I think they are constantly seeking ways of annoying us.

If visiting an out apiary think about every bit of equipment you may need before you set off.