Using a drill/screwing

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Enough
Go easy on me as I am a complete DIY novice and trying to teach myself.

When you screw screws into wood, how do you do it so it's just one easy process that slides in first time?

It takes me about 5mins per screw.
Yesterday I was trying to screw two wood ends together. I got 2 revolutions of the screw if lucky, before the drill flew off and kept flying into the wood denting it. I had one hand holding the wood and one hand holding the drill....after 10 minutes trying to get 2 screws in my hand was killing me from holding it and twisting it!! Why won't it just go in first time in one action, like I see everyone else do?!

A few ideas.
Have you the drill set on the lowest speed?
Are you using the correct bit for that size screw?
Flat head (slotted) screws are difficult to insert using a drill. Use Pozi heads screws if possible, making sure the bit matches the number on the box, e.g Pozi 2 is very popular size screw so you need a Pozi 2 bit to fit into these.

It helps if you drill small pilot hole first. (higher setting best for this)

Practice on scrap wood til you get it right.

I always drill pilot holes then lay the piece flat and start the screws using the drill driver on the slowest speed. Drive the screws until the points are just through. Mate up the pieces to be joined and drive the screws home. If the drill is jumping off the screw is the correct screw bit being used? Most bits are marked and the bit type will be on the screw container.

Hope this helps:)

Last edited:
Practise with a manual screwdriver. It may be safer that way.

Think 'fix parts in position', before attempting to do it freehand. Safer that way.

Well at least secure one part in a fixed position before attempting to join them.

RAB