Total Newbie in Northern Ireland!

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michaelmac67

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Hi all,

I came across this amazing forum yesterday and have to say that the interaction and content is top notch!

As per my headline, I'm a total newbie, currently in the 'research/learning' phase of my beekeeping adventure (to ensure a responsible approach to it.)

I'm also reading and watching some 'Beginner' videos on Youtube (especially Black Mountain Honey!) :)

I've reached out to my local association here in NI, The Killinchy Beekeepers, and once they respond I'll be joining up and attending meetings & practical sessions.

I'm also in the process of enrolling in the 'Preliminary Beekeeping' course to acquire some 'formal' training before I proceed into beekeeping proper, in the Spring of 2023.

Last edited:
Thank you! Yes, my primary focus is to get into my local association so that I can do some 'hands on' training at their training apiary under the supervision of experienced beekeepers. :)

Thank you! Yes, my primary focus is to get into my local association so that I can do some 'hands on' training at their training apiary under the supervision of experienced beekeepers. :)
That is the best approach, some pretty dodgy videos on youtube.
Welcome to the forum.

Hi all,

I came across this amazing forum yesterday and have to say that the interaction and content is top notch!
Welcome Michael. This forum is a great resort. Well worth spending a few afternoons looking through our archives.
I hope you enjoy your bees next year.
Ask your questions in the beginners section.

Many thanks Dani & Steve. Heard back this morning from my local association, so things are heading in the right direction!

Can't wait to get my first hive next year, YES! :)

Last edited: