The Barefoot Beekeeper & not using smoke?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I am just learning about natural beeekeeping and TBHs. I have just read and reviewed The Barefoot Beekeeper. Is this still a popular book?

Anyhow ... I am wondering, what would happen if I opened my Langstroth hive without using smoke? Any experience anyone?

Thanks,

Roger

Why tell your bees their home is on fire? Use a water spray and tell them it's raining...........
If they're in a good mood you often don't even need the water spray......:coolgleamA:

The book is excellent, and to my mind a breath of fresh air!

Anyhow ... I am wondering, what would happen if I opened my Langstroth hive without using smoke? Any experience anyone?

Roger

Very much depends on the nature of your bees, time of year, weather, skill. e.t.c......may be nothing, may be something you wish you hadn't tried.

Best to have your smoker to hand just in case.

Cazza

i have a national hive as well as tbh, i got a nuc and intended to chop the frames to fit top bar but didn't want to waste frames, so decided to go with Nat till next year, and put some top bars in for next year, hoping to split next year, when inspecting my hive have only used sugar water in spray bottle light spray no problems as yet,time will tell

I always light a smoker. And rarely use it.

On Monday I invited a newbie around to see my TBHs in action. It was dryish - and at 15C warm (compared to the previous month).Lit smoker and never used it once in five TBHs Had a spray : never used it. Went bare handed as normal : only 1 sting.