stores in the brood box

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garethjbarry

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, I think that this is probably a regular question but I cant find any other post on it. I have a collony that is strong and foraging well. They are however using the brood box to store the honey and not the super. Since im new to bee keeping i have only a few drawn frames, currently the brood box has only 2 frames of foundation (they have drawn another 3). The super is half and half and they havent touched it. My worry is that they will fill the brood chamber and the queen will run out of laying space. Any ideas? :thanks:

Take the queen excluder off for a day, make sure when you put it back on the queen is below it, or put the super below the bb for a couple of days also with no QE, again make sure the queen is in the bb when you replace them but if you don't feel confident to do that then don't worry too much they will use when necessary, which QE are you using ! The wire ones are the best.
E

I have a collony that is strong and foraging well.

They are however using the brood box to store the honey and not the super.

currently the brood box has only 2 frames of foundation
:

Any ideas?

Your colony is quite small. Not all brood foundations have been drawn.

The colony does not need/stand the super, because they do not can occupy the brood.

How many brood frames you have there?

- take super off
- wait that colony fill all the frames.
- after that put second foundation box under the brood.

- If you have mesh floor, close it.
- Keep insulation on the cover.
- don't even think about feeding or something encouraging