Q cell

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biglad

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi all newbie to it all. Inspected my hive yesterday there was ten frames full of brood with bees on all . I also found three play cups. And one I think was a queen cell . It was on the bottom end of a frame . Removed them . It wasn't sealed . Will thay keep making them ? . My queen is a this years qeen if that's any difference. So I put on a QE on and a supper . Cheers Neil

play cups are just that, and nothing to worry about until you see an egg in one!

I'm still a relative newbie as well, but to me that sounds like what you did was about right. I'd check again in seven days just in case (eggs hatch after three days and [for queens] are sealed after another five) so by checking every seven days you can usually* keep ahead of them sealing queen cells.

Out of curiosity, was there a mix of eggs, larvae and sealed brood?

*"usually" because if they decide to make an emergency queen out of a young larva they can have a sealed queen cell in around five days - but to my limited experience it doesn't sound like you need to worry about that.

Last edited:
Hi to my limited experience there was a good mix . Plenty of stores . And the queen still laying eggs . Neil

if they decide to make an emergency queen out of a young larva they can have a sealed queen cell in around five days

Emergency queen cells are a different ball game . Nowt to do with swarming.

It can (and does) happen if the beek knocks down swarm cells thinking 'that will keep them from swarming before the next inspection in a week's time'.

If they develop play cups into active queen cells there is no real problem with weekly inspections.