Polystyrene v Cedar

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I'm contemplating Demarre for next year (not wishing to increase my colonies) and I will have to buy some more (14x12) brood boxes.
With the recent discussion on here regarding keeping the bees warm in winter, I wondered if it's possible / advisable to mix in poly brood boxes with standard National kit. If so,which make? I make my own UFEs and am on bottom bee space. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

All my colonies are on 100% Abelo poly.
It's my first year on this format. I've been warned to keep a close eye on them in very early spring, as poly colonies tend to start a lot earlier than colonies in timber.

It's my first year on this format. I've been warned to keep a close eye on them in very early spring, as poly colonies tend to start a lot earlier than colonies in timber.
I think a lot of people who keep both might disagree. Wood starts earlier but overtaken pretty quickly by poly.

Thanks. Hopefully in the future I might have some experience to compare the two.

It's what suits the beekeeper IMO, the bees really don't care. Can't say I noticed any difference with colony build up, some are stronger than others but nothing to do with their hives, in fact I often find the strongest colonies in old, crumbly boxes. Only poly I have now is nucs, for convenience but they are a little pricey these days.

With the poly if only on a single brood then one will need to go double brood pretty quickly to make use of the early increase and nectar income , once one notices the early spring flows cominng in then supers are needed pronto to pre-empt early swarming . This is often delayed altogther or until a bit later in to late spring/early summer.