Overwinter setup newbie help

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edward.21

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Hello

I'm a newbie and I'm not sure what is recommended to do for the winter, I've been reading up and some people suggest matchsticks (for ventilation?) some suggest no insulation and some suggest completely insulating them and I'm at a bit of a loss.

I currently have 1 national and 1 ****** polynuc to overwinter. I'm thinking of putting some insulation on top of the crown board in the national and leaving the mesh floor open. on the poly i think I'll just put some insulation on the roof. I live in Somerset so it doesn't get to cold down here, do you think this will suffice?

Thanks.

Don't think about wintering yet. You have one month to get the hives to better dondition.

How much you have brood in hives now and how much stores?

You ought to get at least 5 frames of brood before winter feeding.

- When you have that bigger hive, does it have enough room for laying in brood box?
- Have you reduced allready size of hive
- have you give smaller ventilation to keep the hive warm for last brooding?

Close mesh floors.
Keep hives warm.
Keep small entrance (nuc needs only 2x2 cm.)

If your bigger hives has 7-8 brood frames, you may donate 2 frames of emerging brood to the nuc just now. So it will get more bees and is able to rear a good gang for winter.

You have perhaps 5 weeks time to ´final winter feeding. It is in practice 2 brood cycles.

After 3 or 4 weeks feed the first feeding box that hives can store and cap the food around brood area. Then after 5 weeks, - or what is the final date on your area,- you feed the hives full so much as they take in during 5 days.

Last edited:
no matchsticks; top insulation (50-100mm of kingspan/celotex type stuff).