nuc arriving on standard National frames but I have a 14x12 brood box

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hi.

I am new to beekeeping (I don't have bees yet) and came across this site as I am researching how I am going to transfer the nuc (which will arrive on standard national frames) into my 14x12 brood box.

I have a beehaus, so putting a 14x12 on top of the brood box is not an option.

Am thinking about the Burnett Extension? Can you fit these extensions when moving the nuc frames into the new brood box? Sounds like a recipe for disaster and that I will lose all my bees before I get them into their home.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help.

Hi.

I am new to beekeeping (I don't have bees yet) and came across this site as I am researching how I am going to transfer the nuc (which will arrive on standard national frames) into my 14x12 brood box.

I have a beehaus, so putting a 14x12 on top of the brood box is not an option.

Am thinking about the Burnett Extension? Can you fit these extensions when moving the nuc frames into the new brood box? Sounds like a recipe for disaster and that I will lose all my bees before I get them into their home.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help.

First I doub't you need to tranfer them straight away anyway, just remember to site the nuc where you want the the hive to be at roughly the same height as the final entrance will be.. somebody else can advise better on b urnett, I think they would work myself but have not seen how a beehaus is set up to be honest