No activity outside "strong" hive

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danro

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Hi everyone

Last year I had two colonies.
A "good strong" one that went into winter queen right, (2010 queen) plenty of stores etc.
Then there was the "weaker" colony. Not sure if it was queen right at the end :confused:
Considerably less bees, not much in the way of stores.. a likely candidate to fail.
A feeder was place on top of both hives.. just in case (I'm quite new to this)

Anyway, on Sunday we had some sunny weather down here in the south.
So I popped over to the hive to see what was going on.

I expected the good colony to be doing their cleansing flights and the weaker colony to not be upto much.

To my surprise there was a healthy looking "cloud" of bees around the weaker colony, bees coming and going in the sun - looking great!

However, the stronger colony had very little signs of life.
There are bees in there, I can see them walking past the entrance on the inside.
But none were flying.
Is this normal?
According to the car it was about 5degs outside, which may be too cold.. but then the other hive seemed happy enough..

Do I need to worry?
What do i need to do (if anything)
I'm waiting for the temp to get closer to 14degs before opening up the hives - is that right?

Many thanks for your help

Danro

If the colony is failing there is not much you can do unless they are starving - but if they have starved to the extent they have stopped flying then I fear they are gone.

If you want to find out what the score is lift the lid and have a quick peek, ideally on a warmish day. Wear a veil because if they are alive and healthy they may object to your unscheduled visit.