moving hive and nuc help

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fullframe45

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
4 --5.
I have had a brood and half hive for about eight weeks and being a very newbie i missed the tell tale signs and they superceeded. I was not sure what to expect So when i checked the hive a couple days back i was very happy to see eggs and lava and they seem to be doing well,so it looks like i have possibly got away with it.
I also have a small colony in a nuke and according to the rearing calendar in the next week she should be on her mating flight s.
however the problem is that the landowner is wishing me to vacate the land i have my hives situated on. We are on very good terms and friends but i can see a move coming very soon.
I think i have another location where i can situate the bees but am worried about the distance and just how to go about doing a move.
The proposed new site is about two miles away as the crow/bee flies and i am not sure if this is far enough from the present location.
Also i have not got a clue how to go about the move and when would be best time and what is the procedure .
Also is it safe to move the nuc in the present situation.

Close the hives up late evening, not on a really hot night, strap them up and move them when you want. Two miles should be ok as long as it isn't flat land between the two sites. Try and turn the hive entrances in a different direction to their present orientation.
If they need to be moved then they need to be moved!