mentor wanted

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

denise washington

House Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
4+2 nucs
:thanks:hi i am looking for a mentor in south yorks i have got a hive its my first year dont know much only what i have read. i nhad a look in my hive yesterday tried to find queen but failed but would like a kind person to show me the ropes a bit
thanks denise
email adress is [email protected]

Not read a lot then? Why would you want to find the queen? Most sensible beekeepers do not look for the queen unless there is good reason to find her and secondly, they don't go troubling the colony, particularly at this stage of the year, unecessarily.

what it is when i got the bees late last year i had the bee inspector come and have a look and he told me that i only had a virgin queen in but a few weeks later when he came back he found some brood in hive so i just had a look yesterday to see if i could see her

You've done this the wrong way round. Beekeeping is not easy. You need to read a lot and get some hands on experience before you are left in charge of a real hive. Join your local BKA and get booked on a course. They might have somebody who might give you a hand but you have to show willing first. Why did you get these bees?

i have joined a bka and i am going on a course in may but i just thought if someone local could give me some advice it would be a help and i am willing to learn wanted to do this for years but been too busy working