Medium langstroth

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smokeyred

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
Langstroth
Number of Hives
Anyone had experiece, good or bad, in extracting from full sized langstroth frames? There is a fair bit of oilseed rape in our area by the way........

I mean full sized and not medium sized as the heading suggests. Apologies.

Last edited:
I have not extracted from full depth langstroth frames I use mediums and a full medium super is heavy enough. I believe a langstroth brood frame full of honey weighs 3kg. Are you thinking of using them as supers? if so you are looking at 30kg of honey plus frames wax and the box .

Anyone had experiece, good or bad, in extracting from full sized langstroth frames? There is a fair bit of oilseed rape in our area by the way........

I have only 45 years experience. I use them mixed. Flexibilyty is most important.
But as ideal I use 3 brood boxes+ 4-6 medium boxes.
Sometimes I have 5 langstroth + 3 medium ...and what ever.

With lanstroths you must be more carefull with extractor speed.
If combs are not used as brood frames, they will be broken easily.
And they do not stand warming because combs become soft.

Bees cap low frames sooner than big ones. Then you can extract honey and you have empty combs again during flow.

Full langstroth has 25 kg honey and medium 16 kg. It is big difference when you handle full boxes.

But of course when you need new brood combs, foundations is better to use first in supers. Bees draw easily combs during main flow and then you have combs for next year.

Last edited:
JohnandRob