Langstroth or national.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi, I'm a newbie to beekeeping and looking to buy my first nuc and queen for my hive. I was under the impression that my hive was a Langstroth hive but on measuring my brood box foundation frames which are 16"x10" Im a bit confused. From what I've read these are National frames or am I wrong. There's 11 frames and a dummy board in the box. My supers frames measure at 14" x 5 1/2" and have 9 frames in the box. Just want to order the right nuc for my hive. I believe that some hive parts can be inter changed. I will post some pics . Any advice is welcome. Cheers.

Attachments

• 20220105_165147.jpg
    20220105_165147.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 59
  • 20220105_165607.jpg
    20220105_165607.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 64
You have a commercial hive which is the same external dimensions as a national but the frames and box are different - note the lugs.

Your super looks to be national though.

You could buy a national nuc and the frames will fit into the commercial hive however there will be gaps. It might be worth looking at a national brood box in the sales to keep things easy.

You have a commercial hive which is the same external dimensions as a national but the frames and box are different - note the lugs.

Your super looks to be national though.

You could buy a national nuc and the frames will fit into the commercial hive however there will be gaps. It might be worth looking at a national brood box in the sales to keep things easy.
Thanks for the advice, will talk to the Bee supplier tomorrow. Cheers.

Can I get a nuc that will fit this box .