Landing Boards Pros and Cons

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wraith

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Hi all, Just done a search but can't find my answers? I'm new to this and just about to build my stands for my nationals. But can't seem to find why some people have boards and some don't, I suppose there is no real definative answer but would like to here peoples thoughts?

Pros - easier for beekeeper to inspect arrivals/pollen/etc.....easier for bees in windy/colder conditions.
Cons - makes moving hives slightly more difficult as you can't stack them so close together.

There will be others - these however are the ones I've experienced. None of my hives have landing boards.

Have heard, not yet seen, of blue tits picking bees off the landing boards or even the front of hives. They peck the side of the hive, wait until bees come out to see what the issue is then gulp, gone. Landing boards would make that much easier though I would've thought.

None of my hives have landing boards.

Di.

Last edited:
They aren't necessary but I love a landing board. Best way of watching the bees come in and out.

Also handy for wasp smashing later on in the season.

Thanks for asking the question. I have no landing boards at the moment but want to add them because when they are trying to get in a reduced entrance it looks as though they desperately need one. However, I had no knowledge to back it up. I have tried to use my instinct with my bees but with teh knowledge I have gleaned to support my decisions. I am not sure that any of the hives I have visited have had landing boards. I am assuming that basically a piece of wood with a triangular cross section added to my hives would do the trick. Interesting to read the couple of comments from those who don't like them.
Tricia