Is it to late to demaree?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
No it's not - but just leave the top box run it's course and either take down or let them backfill
Cheers I better get building!
I've been looking at mine every 5/7 days the ones I've done already.
I've preferred inspections every 5 days, some might say it's fiddling but I've saved queen's and watched things grow been at bit ruthless with stock with requeening but hey how.
Just to rant more, I've lost 4 swarms this season I've put that down to lack of comb only foundation.

Last edited:
I'll throw my hat in the ring for what it's worth. I'm not a bee farmer....just a lowly hobby keeper. Ive been doing Demarees for a few years now and, for me, there are a few things to consider. Is the colony fast expanding, getting quite a few drones but not yet on swarm preps? Then all good to go. This time of year queens are going to begin to slow down. Have I got drawn comb? Because in my short experience Demarees work best with drawn comb in the bottom box at the best of times let alone this time of year when nectar is coming in fast and being put in the supers. I would be worried about lack of laying space.
I don't know what commercial beekeepers do but at this time of year If I had a colony that needed swarm management I would nuc the queen and put a new mated queen straight in the old box.....Or if I had no queens (unlikely for a commercial unit, surely) Then I would bleed capped brood off the queen into the parent hive till the new queen was up and laying

I did 3 x demaree this year, early May and well before any (visible) swarm preparations. Mostly on foundations in LBB. 2 out of 3 ended up making swarm preparations, so ended up aborting and removing the Q’s to a nuc.