Interesting article about how to treat stings...

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Sorry I'm not very technically minded. When I checked it I guess it linked into my computer. I had been sent the article.

An extract follows:

""The method of removal does not seem to affect the quantity of venom received. This finding contrasts sharply with conventional advice on the immediate treatment of bee stings. Probably this advice derives from a misunderstanding of the structure and operation of honey bee stings. The sting continues to inject venom, but it is the valve system, not contraction or external compression of the venom sac (the wall of which contains no muscle) that pumps the venom.

Our data indicate that the advice often given to patients—that they should be concerned about how bee
stings are removed—is counterproductive in terms of minimising envenomisation. The method of removal is
irrelevant, but even slight delays in removal caused by concerns about the correct procedure (or finding an
appropriate implement) are likely to increase the dose of venom received. The advice should be simply to emphasise that a bee sting should be removed as quickly as possible.""

thanks for that, i always kick myself because i rush to remove sting and often wonder if i have pinched it rather than scrapped it. Well at least i have done something right today!

Got stung in hand and arm yesterday - I have a very dramatic reaction very red and hot and swollen. If my bees swarm I might give up. LOL

Slower movements required!

Don't close you fingers or clasp your hands without 'feeling' your movements for a bee you might trap.

Smoke the sting to kill the 'smell' - then dab Tea Tree Oil on - pain goes away. :cool:

Anti-histamines when you get stung or before as some do.

"very red and hot and swollen"