A Cheshire System of Beekeeping by A J Blakeman

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
I'm a new beekeeper with a question about double broods with national hives.

This is my first time away from the beginner section so let me first say something about myself... When I say I'm a new beekeeper, I have ordered two overwintered colonies for collection in the next month or so. So I probably don't qualify to call myself any sort of beekeeper.

My beekeeping friend and mentor has recommended a 14x12 brood box as he found with a national the colony quickly out grew the space. I have paid the deposits on two national broods and unfortunately they don't have any colonies for sale on 14x12.

This got me looking at other options - one being to migrate to 14x12 over time - the other option seems to be a double brood or brood and a half.

There are lots of posts on the forum relating to these options and I have read them. One post in particular caught my attention as it related to 'A Cheshire System of Beekeepingby A J Blakeman'

The article is on the Cheshire Beekeeping Association's website (here: http://www.cheshire-bka.co.uk/Articles/CheshireSystemOfBeekeeping.php)

I'll copy the full article at the end of my post - the article summary highlights a number of benefits:

WHAT DOES THIS SYSTEM DO FOR US?

It enables us to give ample room for breeding during the developing season.

It provides for a supply of new combs built in the right place at the right time.

Given a decent season it provides us with surplus honey and with a food
Chamber for the colony.

It provides us with good queens in an easily accessible chamber, raised under good conditions, and if in the selected colony helps us materially in producing a strain suitable to the district.

It very greatly reduces the risk of swarming.