I'm embarrassed that I started beekeeping only last July 16th.

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Micklemus81

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Thank you for the chance to join this Beekeeping Forum. I hope the very experienced beekeepers in this forum will not mind or be offended by the fact that I have two so called Flow Hives.
I intended from day one to look after these incredible bees with the utmost respect and with the care they most definitely deserve.
I have always been in awe of these cleaver insects. I love honey and my wife does too. This is not least because it's a damn good antioxidant. Was it a miracle that honey cured my sore throat a couple of weeks ago? I think not. My old dad told me years ago, honey healed tropical ulcers that the Japanese prisoners had nothing else to use.
I was an engineer but at 81 I fear I should have bought the two bee hives I have much sooner.
I said to my wife in mid June of 2021, the only thing we are short of is a bee hive. I was at the time noticing the scent of our inedible Citrange orange tree, 30 years old outside that had the most wonderful scent descending on me while I was sitting in the gazebo.
A month later I saw what seemed to me a good idea and price on 'A' a new fangled Flow hive. Fair enough I have had to make a few additions to it to improve the design but it was much cheaper than the genuine Flow hive that was out of reach financially for me. The original I believe has the open mesh floor that I had to add & which I thought was an essential addition to the one I could afford.

No honey in the first season but this year the flow hive does seem to work. I was not warned about varroa mites by anyone but now there is another colony as of this year early June that was lathered in them I have had to learn quickly and the hard way how to kill them.