hive insulation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seaninis

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
ladies/gents... im in the process of putting the hives up for winter, do i need to insulate the hive if so what is the best material to use?? Thank you Sean

You'll get a lot of different answers about this ( as always ) but I have a piece of 100mm celotex under the roof and a 25mm celotex cosy. This is my first year so I'm doing all I can to help them. Still pollen going in this morning, quite a few flying (s east)

Here's a recent thread that covers this subject:

http://www.beekeepingforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=38152

Because heat rises, you need most insulation in the roof. I use cozies - a sort of deep roof that covers the brood box. The sides are 50mm of PIR (celotex, Recricel, Kingspan, etc.) and the roof is thicker and covered by an aluminium sheet, fettled out of the side of a caravan, to shed the rain. All exposed edges are covered with adhesive aluminium tape to stop insects and bees chewing the PIR.

CVB

ladies/gents... im in the process of putting the hives up for winter, do i need to insulate the hive if so what is the best material to use?? Thank you Sean

block any holes in crown boards then do the same for the roof 'vents' before sticking in a tighly fitting piece of 50mm celotex/Kingspan/whatever which you can leave in all year - they'll be fine with that.

Wherever have you been since joining the forum? Winter preparations and control of conditions inside the hive have been thoroughly chewed over so many times it's probably a regular item in the forum search engine stats.