"Hefting" tool

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vanterrier

House Bee From SW Northumberland
BeeKeeping Supporter
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Encouraged by Pargyle here in thread 'Crown board ventilation over winter' Crown board ventilation over winter see my alternative to hefting, which I am not experienced at. I wanted something simple that gave a consistent readout that I could track as the winter progressed. Something that Heath Robinson might have liked ;)
The tool itself is a simple thing, doesn't need to be particularly accurate, easy to use, cheap to make.
To estimate weight of stores you need to find the Tare of your hive (everything that does not change). I then weigh at four points just inboard of the base frame, calculate the average then double it to have the net weight.
The net - tare = weight of what changes, week to week, I.e. stores and bees.
I make no claims and I'm not being negative about hefting. I might be able to do that myself at some point...
I hope this is of interest or inspires someone?
K ;)
20231113_091059.jpg20231113_090815.jpg20231113_090640.jpg

All my floors have a screw ring each side. Hook luggage scales and lift one inch. Do each side and add.
That’s what I had until I changed to Abelo poly floors. I don’t trust the strength of the poly to continue, so it’s back to three fingers and guesswork.

I've been using an analogue luggage scale for few years but have only weighed from one side using a eye screw in the floor.

Analogue scale died and upgraded to digital. A bit too accurate, numbers shifting around to 100ths of a lb. Nearest pound is enough. Don't use as in photo. Now use snap ring through the eye screw and a length of cord lifting the scale above the crownboard.