Food vs Cold

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WingCommander

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi all

I am a recently new beekeeper and this is my first year. I have a bit of a quandry and my 'bee mentor' is unavailable due to illness.

Towards the end of the summer I harvested from one of my 2 supers and left the other on. I then replaced the first super after harvest for the bees to clean out which they dutifully did. I then removed both supers and went through the Apiguard process. Once this was complete I placed the 2nd Super which is about 1/4 full of honey but with none capped. I placed it above the crown board with the escapes removed in the expectation that the bees would take the honey down into the brood box. This was about 6 weeks ago.

For one reason or another I have not been able to get back to remove the Super but managed to do so yesterday with a plan of putting escapes back in if needed but not wanting to open the brood box due to the cold. There was not a single bee in the Super but neither had they removed any of the honey. The bees were flying so it is not due to cold that they have not gone up (I think). My only other thought was that there was simply no room for the honey in the brood box - upon last inspection the food supplies were great.

My options, as I see them are:

1. Leave as is with the super above crown board so it is there i extra food is needed but would result in a colder hive.
2. Remove super and wrap it up until next year but I am not sure if the honey will 'keep' in uncapped cells.

A friend suggested placing the Super below the brood box but if there is no room then this surely wouldn't work.

Any suggestions/advice welcome.