End of season splits

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JOF

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
I'm a newbie and lost my 1st hive last winter. I loved it last year and am gutted to have all the gear, no idea (bees)😉!

I am waiting for a swarm from my local bee association, but have also ordered a local buckfast nuc (as I'm bottom of my BKA swarm list) which will arrive end June.

I want to expand to reduce the chances of being bee-less again. So, do you think it would be too ambitious to get two splits from this nuc and get the virgin queens open mated?

I was thinking feeding to help increase colony strength and then try to get 2 x 3 frame nucs out of it mid-end August to be overwintered in poly nucs. Do Queens still get mated that late in the season?

Not interested in honey yet, I would just like to start next year with 3 viable colonies.

Or if anyone's got a free swarm in Hampshire? 😍

This is the same old story I'm afraid, seen it again and again. It's almost an obsession with people telling beginners they must have two colonies going into winter Not all the advice people give is good (in fact, by what I've seen over the years - the exact opposite).
You are much better off going into winter with one strong healthy colony than three weak substandard ones.
Concentrate on getting this nuc built up, treat for varroa in a timely manner to ensure your winter bees aren't compromised by varroa, then ensure they are fed and well stored going into winter.
Have confidence in getting this one colony right rather than hedging your bets and fretting all winter with three poor hives

I'm a newbie and lost my 1st hive last winter. I loved it last year and am gutted to have all the gear, no idea (bees)😉!