crystallizing honey

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Do224

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
I extracted some honey in August and it’s now fully crystallised in the jars (it was runny for the first few weeks). It’s now solid but soft…not runny at all.

I just checked the jar I kept from the previous year and it’s still as runny as the day I extracted it.

Is this kind of variation normal or does it suggest I’ve got sugar syrup/fondant in my latest batch? I’ve never fed them while supers were on but am wondering if they could have moved excess winter stores (which would contain syrup/fondant) up into the super when I put it on in the spring?

I was a beginner. Living in Westmorland. Rosebay and bramble would be my guess but I get that now and it crystallises. Maybe the addition of clover does that. No clover in the Lake District. Sheep eat everything.

The nature of the honey will vary from year to year and box to box. How soon it crystallises depends on the ratio of sugars in it, mainly glucose and fructose.
When I extract I run it into food grade buckets and let it sit for a few weeks. If it remains clear and runny I process as runny, if it shows signs of crystallisation I will soft set it

That is the beauty of real honey, Lime and fuchsia never sets but brassicas always set. All nectars have different properties. That is why I suggest keeping a jar from every year so you can compare. My mainly lime honey from last year is still runny but similar honey from a different hive has gone like jelly. Obviously foraging on different plants during the same period. I often keep hives separate for that purpose too when extracting. Love the variations.

It will depend on the two main natural sugars that make up the honey, obviously the honey has a higher Glucose base.