Capped cells and hive splitting

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Strit

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi everyone, I'm looking for advice and reassurance that I've done the right thing. I'm new to beekeeping having got my first hive last August.
This year I had planned on expanding the number of colonies so got 2 nucs. I did an inspection yesterday and noticed numerous capped swarm cells, so I decided to split the hive into the original and 2 new nucs. I took out 3 frames per nuc, with a few capped swarm cells, capped brood and what honey I could as this was limited, plus added 2 new waxed frames. I'm now feeding the nucs and original hive 1:1 syrup to make sure they are sufficiently fed. Any benefit in giving the nucs any pollen patties too?
The original hive is in the same location with the 2 nucs just behind it.
I noticed the queen was a lot slimmer, I believe indicating that the colony is preparing her to swarm? But she has her wings clipped. Probably a stupid question but could she abscond just by walking out? I removed any remaining swarm cells from the orinal hive.
Based on the research I've done, I think I'm on the right path, but any comments and feedback would be most welcome.
Many thanks.

The flying bees (the swarm instigators) will all have returned to the Q+ hive now, so although there is a lot less brood in there, they may still swarm.
The nucs will now have the bare minimum nurse bees in to cover the brood so will struggle to forage so they may need some feeding, the trouble is, you have to be careful that the fliers that have returned to the Q+ hive don't signal a free food source in the nucs and instigate robbing, so keep an eye on things.
The q+ hive will now be packed with foraging bees so should not need supplementary feeding at all.