Brood box - 1 or 2?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fionastennings

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
This is my first year with 1 hive,
should I have 1 or 2 brood box per hive,
someone told me with 2 brood boxes they have plenty of room & don't tend to swarm.
whats every ones thoughts on 1 or 2 brood boxes?

someone told me with 2 brood boxes they have plenty of room & don't tend to swarm.

'someone' isn't much of a beekeeper then.
all depends on type of bee - and type of hive really. When bees want to swarm, you can give them all the room in the world, and they will still go. It's all about managing your colony and preempting their moves.

Swarming should not be an issue at this time of year - something for 2020. Therefore the immediate concern is getting the colony ready for winter. Firstly with varroa treatment and secondly to give them enough food for winter. A 'full sized' colony may need more than one brood box - say a super of food. A colony that has hardly drawn a full brood box of comb from a nuc this year, will probably be OK with a full brood box. You can give fondant in late winter, but your aim should be that you don't need to.
In Spring, you may need to use 2 brood boxes but this depends on the bees and forage and something to decide upon at the time.

If they have got to this time of year on one box, then keep them on one, but ensure that any cells not being used for brood are full of stores when you shut them up for winter. Next year if they are running out of space for brood come late spring/ early summer, then add another brood box. Let the bees tell you what they want rather than a book or an " experienced" beekeeper. If you added what type of hive you are using to your profile you could get a more detailed answer.
Most of my colonies need double brood, but some are happy on single.