Bias

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Itchy

Field Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Lost count and can't keep up
What does BIAS mean?....I hate shortened stuff

Thanks Craig

Mmmmmm, i was wondering that aswel but too embarassed to ask
Another question answered

Brood in all stages would be much better, as would Queen excluder etcetera

Acronym...thanks Pargyle

Now have an Acronym list and a Glossary, both help!

Brood in all stages kind of says I colony is doing fine. An egg is an egg for only three days, so find eggs and you will also very likely have a queen laying. And no, you didn't accidentally squash her when you last inspected.

Let's see what bias this attracts... I'm a beginner and to pass on a lesson I have learnt, it is SUPER hard to see eggs through a gauze head-covering so don't drive yourself nuts trying. For a beginner, If you see small larvae (I'll try and dig out pics by age) it's the next best thing until you are counting days like a careless teenager, and probably even then.

I'm a beginner and to pass on a lesson I have learnt, it is SUPER hard to see eggs through a gauze head-covering so don't drive yourself nuts trying. For a beginner, If you see small larvae (I'll try and dig out pics by age).
Tip from an RBI*, if you're looking for eggs, use an LED torch. The bluish light picks out the eggs even on a dull day. And no, agree that most of the time you don't need to find eggs. But there are times when it's really good to find some, such as a newly mated queen.

*Regional Bee Inspector, another one for the acronym list.

Last edited:
And if you wear specs for reading, get a cheap pair one strength up just for beekeeping- really helps through that gauze.
Once beginners begin to see those eggs, BIAS falls into place in reading the hive, and builds confidence in their own ability.