Best Time To Buy Equipment?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silex

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello to all,

This is my first post. I am a complete novice to bee-keeping, though I have lurked around the site for quite a while (it's been an excellent resource to my learning curve, thanks to all the regular contributors) and I have joined our local BKA. I am planning my first hive for next year and I wondered if there was a seasonal buyer's prime time to buy hives and equipment, and if so when that might be?

For instance my other hobby is biking and I know that the best time to purchase a motorbike and gear is during the winter months. Fewer people are thinking about summer biking then, and bargains are much easier to find between November and early March. Is there a similar seasonal bargain sales time with bee-keeping? I'm guessing it would also be during the winter months, but that is entirely speculative on my part.

Yes, that's the season for sales - though Th%rnes (the spikey things on roses, Google it) have a sale this coming Friday and Saturday at their Scottish branch for personal callers (yes, I know its a bit far .... ).

You may find adverts in the local press for secondhand equipment at any time as folk are always dropping out of beekeeping. Old age often, also people carried away with enthusiasm for their new hobby who then find that they can't cope. Burn the frames, scrape down and scorch the inside of wooden boxes, and clean other equipment in washing soda (soda crystals) and you'd be fine.

As Gavin says look out for the sales from major suppliers normally at the end of the year. Keep popping in here as people normally post a reminder for others when the online sales are about to start.

Flea bay has some good bargains and good sellers!