best feed?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edward.21

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Hello
I'm new to beekeeping and i'm currently feeding 1:1 sugar water. i have got some ambrosia and some Candipolline Gold to try but i was just wondering what/how you feed your bees and why you think its best.

Thanks ED

i was just wondering what/how you feed your bees and why you think its best.

I try not to need feed them. It may not be the cheapest, but rather that way than risk sugar syrup in honey next season or filling comb unecessarily during the summer.

If I had to feed it would be either 1:1or 2:1 sugar syrup, fondant or maybe pollen substitute patties - dependent on the situation. Wet or dry sugar might be an option in an emergency, but better to avoid those if possible.

Sorry, must get these specs sorted. Thought it said breast feed I was going to volunteer.

Sorry, must get these specs sorted. Thought it said breast feed I was going to volunteer.

Bet you feel a bit of a tit now!

Ambrosiea, candipoline, sugar Hmm sounds like the start of anothe Finman diatribe! (is it winter already and I haven't noticed.)

But seriously - why are you feeding now? we need some more information before we can tell you anything

Hello
I'm new to beekeeping and i'm currently feeding 1:1 sugar water. i have got some ambrosia and some Candipolline Gold to try but i was just wondering what/how you feed your bees and why you think its best.

Thanks ED

Ed, you shouldn't need to be feeding at this point, unless there's something special going on - like someone gave you a swarm last week. Swarms want to draw comb, and feeding allows them to keep on doing it - to their (and your) advantage. Nucs aren't the same thing.
You shouldn't need to feed because the weather's pretty good and there should be plenty forage around.