Beginners Query

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martyn15

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Following a beekeeping course earlier in the year we bought our first nuc in late June and set up one National hive. All going well so far with most frames in the brood box drawn out (one side of one frame isn't). The colony is clearly increasing significantly and so 2 weeks ago we took the decision to add a super and stop feeding (which we had been since June). However, there is clearly little activity in the super and none of the frames have been drawn out.
So our questions are:
1. Have we added the super too soon ?
2. Should we remove the super and recommence feeding ?
3. Any other advice gratefully received

Many thanks

I'm also a beginner but did you add a queen excluder between brood box and super. Ted hooper says that bees can be loath to go through one into a box of foundation. He says to remove it and they will draw out comb and after a week or so find the queen and move her back down (which might be easier said than done)

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk

Why have you been feeding all this time?
How many frames in the brood box actually have brood in?
As for the super - never had a problem with bees reluctant to go through a queen excluder, however, they will only go up into the super if they need the space - my feeling is that the colony may be happy enough with just the brood box.
How much stores do they have in the BB ?