bees avoiding the super

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

menteth

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
14x12
Number of Hives
Hello everyone, this is my first thread, so apologies if i get this wrong and it ends up in cyberspace.

I'm pretty new to this bee lark (2nd year). My problem is this: I just cannot get my bees to enter the brood chamber. They'll go in there ie there's always a handful kicking around in there, but they wont draw out the wax foundation etc. (national hive with super on top). I've tried removing the queen excluder which has been off for 6 weeks now. And still they wont go up.

The hive is absolutely rammed with bees and brood. Every frame is stuffed with brood, right to the top and sides. So much so that there's no room for honey stores etc. I can't see them carrying on like this.

It's a new super with new frames and foundation. Surely this new super can't be haunted.

Could it be the foundation? OR are my bees just being a bit snobby about the decor of their new larder. How do I encourage them up.

Any ideas
Thank to all

Only idea is that the hive is too cold and bees must protect brood.
That is why they do not occupye the super.

With your short experience you cannot valuate conditions.
It is often difficult to me too. Bees just do not rise to next box.

Put the suoer under the brood box. Bees enlarge thdere when they are ready to it.

Put ventilation smaller and keep upstairs closed that there is no heat leaks.

Brood + super is a small hive. If you look bees after cold night they have made tighter cluster.

Last edited:
How many frames of brood?

Kind of hive and floor?

Strain of bee if known?

Supplier of foundation?

PH

Last edited: