Bee stings

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lee28

New Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
Hi everyone just wondering what you all recommend for stings. I’m new to bee keeping and been stung a few times ( comes with the territory I suppose 😂) and wanted to see if anyone has any ideas to keep the swelling down.

Sting and Bite Cream. From Sainsbury ,Asda etc. 1% (or 2%?) hydrocortisone cream.
Works a treat.
approx £2.50 a tube.

Reduces pain and swelling.

Sting and Bite Cream. From Sainsbury ,Asda etc. 1% (or 2%?) hydrocortisone cream.
Works a treat.
approx £2.50 a tube.

Reduces pain and swelling.
Thank you I’ll give it a try

If you feel like throwing your money around then Piriton. Otherwise buy generic Chlorphenamine which is identical and a small fraction of the price, and easily available from online pharmacies. It works very fast ( I won't bore you with all the details, but it is to do with its ability to cross the blood brain barrier owing to lipid solubility)

But...

It is one of the early anithistamines, and causes drowsiness, so the usual warnings about not driving etcetera

I always have a few in my beesuit - just in case

With time and more stings you will hopefully develop immunity and suffer progressively less swelling.

With time and more stings you will hopefully develop immunity and suffer progressively less swelling.
...or the opposite. After many decades of stings, the wife of a local commercial beekeeper near here suddenly developed an allergy bordering on the anaphalactic. He has had to dramatically downsize as most of his hives were on the farm and close to the fasrmhouse. I now supply the local shop