Bearding and then some

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SavvySalli

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi, this is my first year so everything that happens is new!

I have a National hive with pitched roof and a calm, happy colony which I obtained in early June. Apart from a couple of stings everything's been going well and we took off 30lbs of honey, still leaving one full super on for winter.

The site is open although protected from the north by a hedge and the hive faces south with frames on the cold way.

To my inexperienced eye the colony is no smaller than it was in July too but according to everything I'm told, and I read (on here, Ted Hooper, BBKA, etc etc) the hive should be decreasing now and winter bees should be appearing.

I have just put the second tray of Apiguard on, and am feeding them syrup using a rapid feeder as advised by my mentor. These are both sitting directly on the brood frames with a spare super as eke, as obviously unless I put on another eke there's no room for the feeder on top of the crown board.

The full super is under the brood box and the qxl is removed. As the hive seemed very full and was a bit of an 'oh good heavens' moment I've put on an empty (ie no frames) super at the bottom, onto the mesh floor. The varroa tray is in as is the anti-invader entrance.

When I put the second Apiguard tray on they began the bearding, not very much at first but today I went to check the syrup level and they're everywhere. There are plenty of bees with pollen walking about on the hive, and probably about 20% of the others around the hive have their bottoms raised but for what reason they would need to be releasing pheromones I don't know..