Attracting a swarm

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jake

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
None
Hi guys I'm new to beekeeping done taster course and have a 5 week theory and 5 week practical courses coming up.
We are keeping our hive at work on a golf course, the hive is all built minus wax in frames.
So we were thinking if we dont have enough money in the budget for bees then we could attract a swarm with swarm wipes.
Would this be a really bad idea for beginners as they could be nasty
Thanks

My advice is that you join a local beekeeping association, where you will get advice and also make links with swarm collection which could provide your first colony with the support required to get the best out of your new hobby.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A swarm of bees moving into an old WBC hive rescued from a bonfire got a friend back into keeping bees after an absence of 20 years!

The folk law surrounding bees, swarming and swarm sites is fascinating, bees seem to attract more bees, so for now dig deep and buy a colony or nuc from someone who rears them locally.
And build another hive, as a bait hive!!

Good luck

This is could be a silly question I was wondering if we did attract a swarm and not the nicest bees good we the. Remove queen and a frame and add to like a nuc or something and then the hive produce new queen?

I know someone that keeps bees aswell on our golf course would it be better to get a frame of eegs etc off him

This is could be a silly question I was wondering if we did attract a swarm and not the nicest bees good we the. Remove queen and a frame and add to like a nuc or something and then the hive produce new queen?

I know someone that keeps bees aswell on our golf course would it be better to get a frame of eegs etc off him