Am I a bad beekeeper?

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShinySideUp

Drone Bee
Reaction score
Number of Hives
None, ex-beekeeper
Although I'm in my fourth year of beekeeping I still have 'imposter syndrome' and that I'm not really much good at it. My prime reason to keep bees is, well, to keep bees. The honey is a bonus and if they pollinate my fruit trees (they don't, bumbles do that) that's a bonus but the fact that I am trying to preserve a piece of wildlife is what keeps me going.

I have five hives and am not going to increase that so if they swarm then so be it. I have had one already this year but since my interest is in the bees themselves I'm not overly concerned as I live in a rural area and the bees will probably find somewhere in the woodlands.

I do wonder if I'm a bad beekeeper though as my inspections are limited to smelling the hive (it can tell you a lot) then checking for eggs, larvae and brood and also space for them so they are less likely to swarm. The inspections are often cursory especially at this time of the year as there are so many bees in the hives and I often only take out a couple of sample frames to see what's going on. Adding supers at the right time is more of a priority for me. I treat for varroa regardless of evidence in August with apivar and at Christmas with OA trickling and I take my honey in July making sure that I keep supers aside so each hive has part filled nadir for winter supplies; one for each hive. In four winters I haven't lost a colony. I like to let the bees look after themselves. Many folk will say I should be doing this, or looking for that but I'm not sure this is always necessary or even desirable.

I think I do alright, but what do I know, I'm just a bad beekeeper. :judge:

Last edited: