14 x 12 nuce box conversion

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gribbee

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
Hi there,
I am new to beekeeping and about to pick up my first colony this weekend.
Recently my wife has very kindly bought me a nuke box (no bees) but it is made for 14 x 12 frames.
My question is, can I convert it to 14 x 8 frames by inserting a new floor at the correct depth or being a coplete novice am I missing something.
Any advise will be really appreciated.
Steve

Do you already have a hive that takes the smaller frames? I'm only in my second year but if I had my time again I would use 14x12 BB instead of brood+half.

Just a thought...

BTW - lots of posts recently regarding the conversion of one to the other.

Nick

... about to pick up my first colony this weekend.
Recently my wife has very kindly bought me a nuke box (no bees) but it is made for 14 x 12 frames.
My question is, can I convert it to 14 x 8 frames by inserting a new floor at the correct depth or being a coplete novice am I missing something.

Welcome to the forum!

Not many made only for 14x12. What exactly is it? Knowing that might enable some specific advice from someone.
14x12 seems a good way to go. But if you are getting standard National frames of bees and a matching hive, you may not want to go changing direction before you start. Changing the hive from std nat to 14x12 is really very easy. Converting frames that are in-use is less easy ...

Hi Steve, you can stick national frames straight into a 14" X 12" brood box no problem, the bees even help out by gradually extening the frames down to fill the box. Just be carefll how you handle the frames in the warmer weather, so that you allways keep gravity from trying to fold them in half. Regards, John.