What to do with old and mouldy foundation

Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum

Help Support Beekeeping & Apiculture Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeeOnMyWay

New Bee
Reaction score
Hive Type
National
Number of Hives
I suspect there's a one-word answer to this question, but I'm a novice so please bear with me. When foundation is old and full of dead larvae and pollen and capped stores AND is a bit mouldy, is there any point in recycling the wax? Can it be used to make new foundation? And if so, is it a case of melting it down and sieving it? Example as shown (see picture). In the cold weather I lost a colony housed in a borrowed and rather decrepid five-frame nuc. It was borrowed so I want to do the right thing.
Andy
Diary Of A Nervous Beekeeper

Hi BoMW. Wax is wax. Looking at your pic, I would say that it looks pretty good stuff. And look at those stores! Why reclaim it anyway? The bees will make use of it. If it's from a known good source of course. Though the frame does look as if it could do with cleaning which may rightly affect your decision. How old is it?

Last edited:
I seem to remember that vinegar or lemon or something like that shouldget rid of a light covering of mould like that. Looks as if it got damp...

My novice eye cant see much wrong with the comb and whats in it tho, but I would say that general opinion might be that you didnt give it to another colony.....

Get a big saucepan, cut up all they wax to inch blocks and put it into half a suaucepan of water with a tablespoon of lemon juice ( must be acidic otherwise you make soap

slowly warm up until all the wax melts and them let cool in the fridge

throw away all water and scap off the majority of the crud under the solid wax

Repeat, inch block of wax in water and lemon jiuce

let it cool, and you should have a circle of wax